(713) - 461 -7200 | info@socialmotionskills.org

icon facebookyoutubeicon twitterpinteresticon linkedinaspire accessories

Solving life's special needs.


Solutions for families and corporations dealing with autism, ADHD, and similar social challenges at all ages.

Resources

  • Organizations & Health Research Resources:

-AutismSpeaks.org

-Socialthinking.com

-Autism Support Network

-Association for Science in Autism Treatment (ASAT)

-National Autism Center at May Institute

-National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, & Medicine

-Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB)

-Autism Research Institute

-Autism Science Foundation

-Advancing Futures for Adults with Autism (AFAA)

  • Texas:

-Families for Effective Autism Treatment (FEAT)-Houston location

-The Arc: Autism Now (Cypress Creek, Greater Houston, Katy, Spring Branch Memorial)

-Mental Health America (MHA) of Greater Houston

-Texana Center

-Texas Statewide Leadership for Autism Training (TSLAT)

-PEERS of Texas

-Partners Resource Network

-Texas Autism Research & Resource Center (TARRC)

-Family to Family Network- http://www.familytofamilynetwork.org/

-Texas Health and Human Services (inc. “What is Applied Behavior Analysis?” and “What is Autism Spectrum Disorder?” pages)

  • Information:

-Interactive Autism Network (IAN)-“About Autism” section

-“Autism” American Psychological Association (APA) page

-Autism Spectrum Disorders-Partners Resource Network page

-National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke-

“Asperger Syndrome Information Page” & “Autism Spectrum Disorder Information Page”

-Southwest Autism Research & Resource Center (SARRC)-“Autism Defined” page

-MedlinePlus.gov-“Autism spectrum disorder” page

-National Human Genome Research Institute-“Learning About Autism” page

-U.S. Department of Health & Human Services-

“Autism Awareness and Acceptance in Early Childhood Education” page

-Wrightslaw topic page about Autism, ASD, PDD, & Asperger’s

-WebMD-Asperger’s Syndrome page

-Autism Spectrum Education Network (ASPEN)-What is Asperger Syndrome page

-National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), Natural Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Autism definition pages

-Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Autism Spectrum Disorder page and “Facts About ASD” sub page

  • Texas

-HCS Provider Resource-Texas Health and Human Services page

-Texas Health and Human Services-Autism page

Crime Stoppers of Houston- http://crime-stoppers.org/

-Navigate Life Texas: “Asperger’s Syndrome” and “Autism Spectrum Disorder (Pervasive Developmental Disorder” definition pages (under “Diagnosis A-Z List” sub-section)

  • Resources in Texas (doctors, therapists, financial planners, etc.):
    • Doctors and Dentists:

-Texas Children’s Hospital Autism Center (and Texas Children’s Hospital Autism Resources for Parents)

-Houston Pediatric Dentistry & Orthodontics (Special Needs page)

-Dr. Shaun Varghese (THINK Neurology for kids)- http://www.thinkneurokids.com/

-RiverKids Pediatric- http://riverkidstexas.com/ 

-Texas Children's Meyer Center- https://www.texaschildrens.org/location/meyer-center-developmental-pediatrics

-Children's Learning Institute -https://www.childrenslearninginstitute.org/
  • Psychiatrists:

-Dr. Alice Mao, Dr. Shetal Amin, Dr. Monica Grover-Memorial Park Psychiatry-http://www.memorialparkpsychiatry.com/

-Clear Lake Kids Psychiatry-Autism Spectrum Disorder-http://www.clearlakekidspsychiatry.com/

-Stokan Jaggers & Associates-https://www.stokanjaggers.com/

-Dr. Daniela White-https://www.midtownpsychiatrytms.com/

-Dr. Aaron Fink-http://www.aaronhfinkmd.com/

-Bay Area Psychiatry Group-http://bapsych.net/

-Flourish Mental Health-http://flourishmentalhealth.com/

  • Psychologists:

-Angelique Trask-Tate-Moore Mental Health and Behavioral Services-http://www.moorementalhealth.com/home

-Dr. Judith Norwood Andrews-http://www.drjudithandrews.com/

-Dr. Sophia K. Havasy-Tarnow Center for Self-Management-http://www.tarnowcenter.com/

-Dr. Kimberly Harrison-https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/name/Kimberly_Harrison_PhD_Houston_Texas_119105

-Dr. Dinorah Zanger-http://www.zangerpsychology.com/

-Dr. David S. Wachtel-https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/name/David_S._Wachtel_PhD_Houston_Texas_118951

-The Stewart Center at the Westview School

-Premier Psychological Services (“Autism” page under “Evaluations” section)

-Dr. Ann Caballero-Oak Grove Psychological Associates-https://oakgrovepa.com/

-Dr. Peter Simione-https://www.autismspeaks.org/resource/peter-simione-phd

  • Pyschotherapists:

-Lynn M. McLean-http://www.lynnmcleanlcsw.com/

-Tarnow Center for Self-Management-http://www.tarnowcenter.com/

-Connie Updike-Chilcoat-http://www.connieupdike.com/

-Bridging Lives-http://www.bridging-lives.com/

  • Therapists:

-Therapy and Beyond-https://www.therapyandbeyond.com/

-The Lovett Center-https://www.thelovettcenter.com/

-Andrea Messineo (Group: Understanding Adult Asperger’s)-http://www.andreamessineolpc.com/

-Brooke E. Medina-http://brookemedina.com/

-Melissa McDavid-Mindful Solutions Counseling-https://www.mindfulsolutionscounseling.org/

-Nancy L. Foreman and Associates-http://www.houstonspeech.com/

-Moni Tang-https://www.monimtang.com/

-The Carruth Center at the Parish School (has a connection with Spectrum of Hope)

-Lea Fauster-https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/name/Lea_Fauster_MS

-Brittani L. Persha-https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/name/Brittani_L_Persha_MSW

-Memorial Pediatric Therapy Associates-http://www.memorialpediatric.com/

-Winter Pediatric Therapy (“More than Words” program)-http://www.winterpediatrictherapy.com/site/

-The T.E.A.M. Approach-http://www.teampediatrictherapy.com/

-Elite Spectrum ABA (ABA-based)-https://www.elitespectrumaba.com/

-Endeavor Behavioral (ABA)- https://www.endeavorbehavioral.com/

-Excel ABA (ABA-based) (in-home)-http://www.excelaba.com/

-Communication Essentials: Pediatric Therapy Specialists-http://www.communicationessentials.net/

-Unlocking the Spectrum LLC (ABA-based)-http://www.unlockingthespectrum.com/

-ABA Therapy for Life (ABA-based)-http://abatherapyforlife.com/

-Empower Pediatric Therapy-http://www.empowerpediatrictherapy.com/

-Kids Developmental Therapy (in-home) and Kids Developmental Clinic (out-patient)-https://www.kidsdevelopmentalclinic.com/

-Concept Connections-http://cc.rhhincsearch.com/

  • Counselors:

-Rebecca Higgins-Cornerstone Psychiatry Associates, P.A.-https://sites.google.com/a/cornerstonepsych.com/www/

-Dr. Katherine Graham-http://www.drkatherinegraham.com/

-Jenny Ferguson-Fowler and Tidwell Counseling-http://www.fowlerandtidwell.com/

-Samantha Ter Heege-Bear Creek Counseling-http://www.bearcreekcounseling.com/

-Alice Payne-Renewing Hope Counseling-http://www.renewinghope.net/

-Gabrielle Seekely-Thursday’s Child Consulting-http://www.thursdayschildconsulting.com/

-Caitlin A. Bailey-Tarnow Center for Self-Management-http://www.tarnowcenter.com/

-Casey A. Mansfield-https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/name/Casey_A._Mansfield_MS

-Anita A. Cook-Relationship Builders (inc. autism)-http://autismlink.com/dir/program-builders-inc/

-Innovative Counseling Options of Houston-http://icohouston.com/

-Amy Wine Counseling Center-https://amywinecounseling.com/

  • Support Groups:

-Conative Group (Group and Parent Therapy)-https://www.theconativegroup.com/

-Woodnote Counseling-https://www.woodnotecounseling.com/

-South Shore Center for Couples and Families-http://ccfresources.com/southshore/

-Building Greatness Autism Center-http://buildinggreatnessautism.com/index.html

  • Attorneys:

-Special Needs Answers-Houston location-http://specialneedsanswers.com/

-Shields Law Firm-https://shieldsfirm.com/

-Hayes & Wilson PLLC-https://www.hayeswilsonlaw.com/

-The Filis Law Firm, PC-http://www.filislaw.com/

-Council of Parents Attorneys and Advocates (COPAA)-http://www.copaa.org/

-Disability Rights Texas-Houston location-https://www.disabilityrightstx.org/who-we-are/welcome

  • Financial Resources:

-Archer Consulting Group-http://archerconsulting.com/

-Nelson Negron, Jr.-Morgan Stanley-http://www.morganstanleyfa.com/nelson.negron/

-Autism Speaks-Financial Planner app

-Medicaid.gov-“Autism Services” subpage

  • Clinics, Centers, and Programs in Texas:

-Texas Young Autism Project-http://www.texasyoungautismproject.com/

-Houston Autism Center-https://www.autismspeaks.org/resource/houston-autism-center

-The Shape of Behavior-Houston location-http://www.shapeofbehavior.com/

-Avondale House-http://www.avondalehouse.org/

-UT Health C.L.A.S.S. Clinic-https://www.autismspeaks.org/resource/uthealth-class-clinic

-Success on the Spectrum (ABA-based)-https://successonthespectrum.com/

-Spectrum of Hope-https://www.spectrumofhope.com/

-Tangible Difference Learning Center LLC.-Houston location-https://tangibledifference.com/

-Center for Autism and Related Disorders-Houston location-https://www.centerforautism.com/

-Texas Health and Human Services: DARS Autism Program-https://hhs.texas.gov/about-hhs/leadership/advisory-committees/dars-programs-services-have-transferred-new-agencies

-Harmonious Concepts (Music therapy)-http://harmoniousconceptstx.org/

-Benjaminin’s Behavioral Health Services-http://bhs-inc.org/

-Clear Lake Children’s Center-http://clearlakechildrenscenter.com/

-Applied Behavior Learning Center (ABA-based)-https://www.appliedbehaviorlc.com/

-Easter Seals of Greater Houston-http://www.eastersealshouston.org/

-Jewish Family Service-http://www.jfshouston.org/

-Children’s Learning Institute-Special Needs Area: UT Physicians Pediatric Center for Autism and Related Conditions & Dan L Duncan Children’s Neurodevelopmental Clinic-https://www.childrenslearninginstitute.org/clinics/center-for-autism-and-related-conditions/

  • Retreats & Camps:

-Camp for All-http://campforall.org/

-Morning Glory Ranch (Equine therapy)-http://www.morninggloryranch.org/

-Mikey's Guide - summer camp resource guide-http://www.mikeysplace.net/

  • Autism Friendly Play / Outings:
-Sky High - reserved times for autism friendly-http://hou.skyhighsports.com/
-Children's Museum - Sensory Friendly Days-http://www.cmhouston.org/
-AMC Movies - Sensory Friendly movies and show times